Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

How to Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube – An Easy Guide in 2022

Have you ever come across a video on YouTube that’s restricted? Are you finding ways to disable restricted mode on YouTube? Whether it’s educational or purely for entertainment that you want to watch? 

I guess you are not alone. Many people have also encountered the same scenario. With that said, restricted videos on YouTube are very common. Reasons being that videos are meant for 18+ years old audience, or that it contains mature content. Many parents use this feature to steer their kids away from the content they shouldn’t watch.

Regardless, a restricted video on YouTube doesn’t mean that you can’t watch it at all. You just need to simply disable the feature. However, as simple as it sounds, not everyone knows the steps.

Don’t worry, you are in the right place! In this article, we will detail the steps on disable restricted mode on YouTube.

Suggested reads:

What is YouTube And Why is it Popular?

YouTube is a video-sharing and social networking platform, with over one billion hours of video watched per day by users. YouTube has a huge audience all around the world. It is one of the most popular video-streaming social networking networks in the world. 

Not only is the app for watching videos, users can also interact with different people by liking, sharing, and commenting on the videos. What’s good is that the app is available to use on PCs, laptops, tablets, and smartphones. 

What is ‘Restricted Mode’ on YouTube?

Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Videos on YouTube are not all appropriate for children. In fact, a special YouTube Kids app is available for children aged 13 and under. The good thing is, you can “hide potentially mature videos” by activating Restricted Mode on the standard platform.

Restricted Mode is a YouTube setting that you can enable or disable. This function can help you screen out potentially mature information that you, your kids, or other people don’t want to watch. 

This feature was established in order to give viewers more control over what they see. It’s a way to limit your YouTube experience on purpose. Restricted Mode can be enabled for individual accounts by viewers.

Read: How to Download YouTube Videos on Android Phones?

But, if for instance, we want to watch a restricted video on YouTube for educational purposes, you can just disable the feature and enable it later on.

Moreover, Restricted Mode is activated on a per-browser or per-device basis, so you must enable it for each browser you use. This option must be enabled for each profile if your browser supports multiple profiles.

Now, let’s get into the step-by-step guide on how to enable and disable this rather useful feature. Let’s begin!

How to Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube on Mobile?

Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

The steps to disable the feature will slightly differ depending on the model of your Android phone. In any case, here’s how to do it:

Step 1: Launch the YouTube app on your phone

Youtube-Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Youtube-Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Step 2: Tap your profile picture in the top-right corner of the screen

Youtube profile - Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Youtube profile – Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Step 3: Tap Settings

Settings- Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Settings- Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Step 3: Select General

General - Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
General – Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Step 4: Toggle the “Restricted Mode” option off. 

Note: To tell whether the feature has been already disabled, the toggle should be gray in color.

 Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

How to Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube on Desktop?

Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube on Desktop
Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube on Desktop

Like the previous method, this is also an extremely quick and easy process to complete, once you know where to go. Follow the steps below:

Step 1: Go to www.youtube.com 

Youtube-Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Youtube-Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Step 2: Click on your profile icon, located in the top-right corner of the screen.

Profile icon-Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Step 3: Scroll to the bottom of that menu and click “Restricted Mode: On.”

Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Step 4: Toggle the “Activate Restricted Mode” option off (it will go from blue to grey). 

Off activated restricted mode-Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube
Off activated restricted mode-Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

It’s that easy!

Restricted Mode on YouTube is activated when you know someone under the age of 13 will be using the account. There’s no turning back if they witness something disturbing because as you know, YouTube has a lot of explicit content.

This includes stuff that is racist, pornographic, or has a lot of “bad” language, among other things. And boy, you don’t want your child to see that, do you? 

Frequently Asked Questions on Disable Restricted Mode on YouTube

Why is YouTube on restricted mode?

To provide viewers more control over the content they see, restricted mode was developed. You have the choice to deliberately restrict your YouTube experience. Viewers have the option to enable Restricted Mode on their own accounts.

Why does restricted mode keep turning on?

If you are using a computer from your school, college, university, or other public institution, they may have enabled Restricted mode, as stated on the Google support page. To disable it, you’ll need to get in touch with them. Similar to that, you might not be able to turn off Restricted mode if you are using a school account.

How do I disable restricted mode?

Step 1: Sign in to your account
Step 2: At the top right, tap your profile photo
Step 3: Tap Settings. General
Step 4: Turn on or off Restricted Mode.

Ready, Set, and Action!

Disabling and enabling the Restricted Mode on YouTube is a no-brainer. Now, you can go ahead and watch just any videos on the platform. But a word of warning, it’s always good to be preventive in case youngsters will have access to your account. This feature just prevents them from seeing what they shouldn’t be seeing!

Popular JOA how-to articles:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.