Accept privacy terms of face limited functionality, says WhatsApp

Accept privacy terms or face limited functionality, says WhatsApp

WhatsApp is giving its users a very difficult choice: agree to its privacy terms or face limited functionality.

This very controversial policy is said to go into effect this weekend. With very little time to make a decision, what will these new privacy terms mean to you?

Read:

WhatsApp imposes new privacy terms for its users

Accept privacy terms or face limited functions on the app.

That’s what WhatsApp users are facing right now. Users who have been using smartphones and apps for a long time, shouldn’t have this big of a problem. But why is it such a dilemma then?

WhatsApp has over 1 billion users worldwide
WhatsApp has over 1 billion users worldwide

WhatsApp has issued a revised privacy policy that basically allows the platform to share data with its parent company, Facebook, by May 15th.

As part of the Facebook Companies, WhatsApp receives information from, and shares information (see here) with, the other Facebook Companies. We may use the information we receive from them, and they may use the information we share with them, to help operate, provide, improve, understand, customize, support, and market our Services and their offerings, including the Facebook Company Products.

reads the updated privacy policy.

And here’s the catch:

If users don’t agree to the terms, users won’t get to enjoy all the functions and features on the app.

In a support article posted by WhatsApp, it says that “No one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15th because of this update.”

Rather, WhatsApp plans to gradually limit the functionality users can access. But only until they accept the new privacy terms.

Related: How to transfer WhatsApp data from Android to iPhone

What should you do as a user?

So, are you a user who is having trouble deciding whether to agree to the new privacy policy?

If you haven’t already, you will still have the chance to continue using the app as per usual for “several weeks.”

WhatsApp will then start sending you notifications to remind you to accept the revised privacy policy.

At that time, you’ll encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates,

WhatsApp says in the support article

Here’s what users will have to face when they do not comply with WhatsApp’s updated policy.

First, users will lose access to their chat list. The only way for you to send out a message or call someone is if they get in touch with you first and you click on the notification from WhatsApp.

Unfortunately, after some weeks, the app will eventually stop sending messages and calls to your phone completely. Each process will be different for everyone –– although that’s likely to be the gist of it.

Users face limited access to the app unless they agree to the updated privacy terms
Users face limited access to the app unless they agree to the updated privacy terms

Now, your options will be limited once you go to the second stage. As always, you can download and export your chat history. Users can also delete WhatsApp, but the company warns that you can’t reverse your decision once you delete the app.

And to remind everyone, as part of a separate policy, WhatsApp automatically deletes accounts that are inactive after 120 days.

Also read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.